Skip to content

From Lament to Praise (Pss. 3-9)

April 30, 2008
tags:

I often try to find a narrative running through the Psalms. One thing I would point out concerning Pss. 8 & 9 is that they comes on the heels of five laments (Pss. 3-7). Look at Ps. 7 a little closer:

It begins with David crying out

“O LORD my God, in thee do I put my trust: save me from all them that persecute me, and deliver me: Lest he tear my soul like a lion, rending it in pieces, while there is none to deliver.”

It ends with David declaring:

“I will praise the LORD according to his righteousness: and will sing praise to the name of the LORD most high.”

Now what is this praise? What is this song? Well now look at how Ps. 8 begins:

“O LORD our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.”

I would argue that Psalm 8 is the praise of Psalm 7. Indeed, now turn to Psalm 9 which begins:

“I will praise thee, O LORD, with my whole heart; I will shew forth all thy marvellous works.”

So we have had 5 laments (Pss. 3-7) followed by two hymns of praise (Pss. 8 and 9).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Richard on Intertextuality and the Interp…
    Robert C. Kashow on Intertextuality and the Interp…
    Richard on A Form-Critical Classification…
    Free Classic Comment… on Hengstenberg’s Commentar…
    Robert Strickland on A Form-Critical Classification…
  • Author Index

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Pages

  • April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
